Welcome to my Excel 2010 Cell Tutorials. Here is a list of all the Excel 2010 Cell Tutorials I have created so far.
How to Enter Data into a Cell
In this tutorial I will teach you how to enter data into a cell within an Excel 2010 worksheet.
This is a very basic tutorial, but I want to ensure that everyone understands this so they can follow along with my future tutorials.
For this tutorial you will need a workbook open within Excel 2010.
There are two basic ways two enter data in Excel 2010:
- Typing into the cell
- Formula bar
Both of these ways provide the same result. They both have their advantage and disadvantage. If all you want to do is type one value or a short value then you will mostly like just select the cell you want and start typing. However, if you want to enter a lot of data or enter a formula you might like the formula option because it allows you to see more of what you are entering.
For the purpose of this tutorial we will use the first option of just selecting the cell we want and start typing.Step 1: Select a cell within the Excel 2010 workbook.
It doesn't matter which cell it is. For the purpose of my tutorial I chose the very first cell A1.
Notice the black outline where column A meets row 1 this is cell A1. That black outline tells you which cell is selected.Step 2: Enter data
Type anything you want. It doesn't matter for the purpose of this tutorial I typed the number 1.
Notice is this picture you see the keyboard cursor to the right of the number 1 that I entered already. This is just saying that if you keep typing it will keep adding whatever you type to that cursor location.
In the blue outlined area is the Name Box. By default the name box displays the selected cell.Congratulations, you have entered data into a a cell within an Excel 2010 worksheet. Feel free to check out the rest of my Cell Tutorials.
In the red outlined area is the formula bar. Notice that in the formula bar that number one is also shown, but without the keyboard cursor. The formula bar will always show the value of the cell unless the value of the cell is the result of an equation.
Function - ABS
Welcome to my Function Tutorials.
In this tutorial I will teach you how to use the ABS function within Excel 2010.
ABS (Number) is a function within Excel that allows users to
return the absolute value of a number. The absolute Value of a number is the
number without a sign.
Example:
In column 1, I added 4 numbers two are positive two are
negative notice that when I used the ABS
function the result was the same for 1
as it was for -1.
Function Tutorials
Welcome to my Excel Function Tutorials. Here is a list of all the Excel Function Tutorials I have created so far:
How to Create an Excel 97-2003 Workbook
Welcome to my Workbook Tutorials.
Step 1: Begin by opening Excel 2010.
In this Tutorial I will teach you how to create an Excel 97-2003 Workbook within Excel 2010.
An Excel 97-2003 Workbook is used to allow users to be able to open the workbook with Excel 97 – Excel 2003 versions.
Step 1: Begin by opening Excel 2010.
If you already have Excel 2010 open you don't need worry about opening it again.Step 2: Save the workbook as Excel 97-2003 Workbook
Open File menu.
Select Save (This will open the Save As window).
Select File Address.
Enter File Name.
Change the Save As Type to Excel 97-2003 Workbook.
Select Save.Congratulations. You have created an Excel 97-2003 Workbook. For a complete list of all my macro tutorials open Workbook Tutorials.
How to Create a Binary Workbook
Welcome to my Workbook Tutorials.
Step 1: Begin by opening Excel 2010.
In this Tutorial I will teach you how to create a Binary Workbook within Excel 2010.
A Binary Workbook is used to allow for a large amount of data to be entered into the workbook. A binary workbook also allows users to store macros within the workbook. The main reason to not use a binary workbook is if there is possibility that someone with an earlier version of Excel may try to open that workbook. Some versions of Excel will not open a binary workbook.
Step 1: Begin by opening Excel 2010.
If you already have Excel 2010 open you don't need worry about opening it again.Step 2: Save the workbook as Excel Binary Workbook
Open File menu.
Select Save (This will open the Save As window).
Select File Address.
Enter File Name.
Change the Save As Type to Excel Binary Workbook.
Select Save.Congratulations. You have created a Binary Workbook. For a complete list of all my macro tutorials open Workbook Tutorials.
How to Create a Macro-Enabled Workbook
Welcome to my Tutorials.
In this Tutorial I will teach you how to create a Macro-Enabled Workbook within Excel 2010.
A Macro-Enabled Workbook is used when the user wants to create and use macros within their workbook.
Step 1: Begin by opening Excel 2010.
If you already have Excel 2010 open you don't need worry about opening it again.Step 2: Create a macro
Technically you don't need a macro to create a Macro-Enabled Workbook. However, why would you make it Macro-Enabled if you had no macros?Step 3: Save the workbook as Macro-Enabled Workbook
For the purpose of this tutorial I will assume that you already know how to create a macro. If you need help creating a macro feel free to read my How to Create a Macro tutorial.
Now that we have Excel 2010 open and have created a macro we are ready to save the workbook as a Macro-Enabled Workbook.
Open File menu.
Select Save (This will open the Save As window).
Select File Address.
Enter File Name.
Change the Save As Type to Macro-Enabled Workbook.
Select Save.Congratulations. You have created a Macro-Enabled Workbook. For a complete list of all my macro tutorials open Workbook Tutorials.
How to Create an Excel Workbook
Welcome to my Excel Workbook Tutorials. In this tutorial I will teach you how to create a new Excel workbook within Excel 2010.
Step 1: Open the File Menu.
Step 2: Select New from the File Menu.
Congratulations. You have created an Excel workbook using Excel 2010. Feel free to view the more of my Excel 2010 Workbook Tutorials.
Step 1: Open the File Menu.
File Menu Location
Step 2: Select New from the File Menu.
You should see the following window now.
Notice the the File Menu is still open to the left and New is highlighted green. This just shows that right now you have the new workbook command selected. To the right of the File Menu you will see the new workbook options. For the purpose of this tutorial you don't need to know the purpose of every option within this section.Step 3: Double click Blank Workbook.
Congratulations. You have created an Excel workbook using Excel 2010. Feel free to view the more of my Excel 2010 Workbook Tutorials.
How to Create a Macro
Welcome to my Macro Tutorials. In this tutorial I will teach how to create a macro. For a complete list of all my macro tutorials feel free to check out my Macro Tutorials.
There are two ways to create a macro in Excel 2010.
Select the Macro Menu drop down arrow to open the Macro Menu.
Select the Record Macro. This will open the Record Macro Window.
Congratulations. You have created a macro.
There are two ways to create a macro in Excel 2010.
- First you can select Create from within the Macro Window. This will only create a blank macro with no purpose until you edit. This is primarily used if you are familiar with the programming language used to create macros.
- The other way to create a macro within Excel 2010 is by using the Record command located on the Macro Menu in the View Tab.
For the purpose of this tutorial we will use the second option.
Select View from the ribbon tabs.
View Tab
Select the Macro Menu drop down arrow to open the Macro Menu.
Macro Menu - Record Macro
Select the Record Macro. This will open the Record Macro Window.
Record Macro Window
In this window you have the option to change the macro name, create a shortcut key and decide where you want to store your macro and provide a description. For the purpose of this tutorial the only thing that matters is the name. You can select what ever Excel chose for your or you can create you own name it doesn't matter as long as you understand that you don't want to create to macros with the same name.Select OK.
This will begin to record your macro. Anything you do in within Excel from now until you select Stop Recording from the Macro Menu will be saved to this macro. Perform a few functions. Change a cell color, add data, it doesn't matter what it is for the purpose of this tutorial.Now reopen the Macro Menu.
Macro Menu - Stop Recording
Notice now Record Macro has been replaced by Stop Recording. This is how you will tell you macro to stop recording everything you do in Excel.Select Stop Recording.
Congratulations. You have created a macro.
How to Edit a Macro
Welcome to my Macro Tutorials. For a list of all my Macro Tutorials feel free to check out my Macro Tutorials.
In the previous tutorial we created a new macro named GoodJob. In this tutorial I will teach you how to edit that GoodJob macro. If you have not been following along you just need to make a new macro named GoodJob. If you don't know how to make a new macro feel free to read How to Create a Macro.
Lets Get Started.
Step 1: Open the Macro window.
Step 2: Select GoodJob from the list of macros Names.
Step 3: Select Edit to open the Visual Basic for Applications window.
Step 4: Enter MsgBox "Good Job" inside GoodJob VBA Procedure outlined in red below.
Congratulations. You edited a macro. For the purpose of this tutorial you don't need to know what MsgBox "Good Job" means. Instead all you need to understand is that everything you want to have the macro run needs be between the Sub and End Sub lines.
In the next tutorial I will teach you How to Run a Macro.
In the previous tutorial we created a new macro named GoodJob. In this tutorial I will teach you how to edit that GoodJob macro. If you have not been following along you just need to make a new macro named GoodJob. If you don't know how to make a new macro feel free to read How to Create a Macro.
Lets Get Started.
Step 1: Open the Macro window.
![]() |
| Macro Window |
Step 3: Select Edit to open the Visual Basic for Applications window.
![]() |
| Visual Basic for Applications Window |
Congratulations. You edited a macro. For the purpose of this tutorial you don't need to know what MsgBox "Good Job" means. Instead all you need to understand is that everything you want to have the macro run needs be between the Sub and End Sub lines.
In the next tutorial I will teach you How to Run a Macro.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)














